Pollution You Can See

Posted on Updated on

I just read this article that talks about the most polluted city worldwide. Which happens to be New Delhi.  I found this really interesting because the photos that I have always seen of New Delhi portray it in a state of elegance and beauty so seeing the pictures of actual smog that looks touchable was a surprise to me.

I have always loved to travel to new places and New Delhi was definitely on my bucket list, but now I am not really sure if it is worth breathing in that kind of air. I mean, it isn’t like there isn’t pollution around the major city I live in, but I can’t actually taste it or anything. And in the photos put in this story, I would think that you could definitely taste that smog.

It made me stop and wonder how it is that people can live in those kind of conditions. It seems to me that there would be a resolution to the pollution problems that pop up in all major cities, not just New Delhi.  Maybe there should be a little more focus on the “go green” theme – I mean, shouldn’t we be trying to leave something to be proud of for our children? Or is the desire to just do whatever you what – the future be darned the way to go? I am not saying that I have any solutions myself of course, I recycle and do my small part, it just seems like there is more that we could be doing to take care of the world we live in.

Referenced article – http://www.cnn.com/2014/01/30/travel/most-polluted-city/index.html?hpt=tr_c2

