Oh My Ewwww

Posted on Updated on

I just read about this 18-foot python that was found in South Florida recently.  I would NOT want to be the one to find a snake that size that is for sure! Not to say that I am usually grossed out by snakes or anything, there are some that are quite beautiful but I am definitely terrified of being eaten up by one.

It is one of those random kid fears that grew with me as I became and adult, in fact I still have the occasional dream about that massssive boa constructor getting ahold of me with a wicked grin on his face. That’s right, I dream in animation! It is completely unrealistic to think that I would ever actually be eaten alive by a snake, I am not in any type of a life situation that would make that possible. But I could get bitten by one and die slowly and painfully from poison!

So after reading the article I had to appease my morbid curiosity and looked up a couple of statistics on snakes and Texas.

  • Turns out that about 7,000 people get bitten by poisonous snakes in the U.S. every year.
  • 1 out of 500 poisonous snake bites actually result in death.
  • On average, 1 to 2 people in Texas die every year from poisonous snake bites in Texas.

That leads me to believe that someday, I will be one of those 1 to 2 people! And now I am afraid to leave the house! LOL!!!

*Articles referenced-

http://www.cnn.com/2014/02/06/us/florida-18-foot-python/index.html?hpt=hp_bn1

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/idcu/health/zoonosis/animal/bites/information/venom/snake/

Leave a Reply

