Candy – Yay or Nay

Posted on Updated on

I just read an article about a school banning Valentine Day candy and I had to stop and think about that for awhile, I wasn’t sure if I was for it or against and I think ultimately, I am kind of against it.

I know when we were growing up all of the fun holidays centered around having candies and sweets of any sort, but from my own experience as a parent, I kind of think my parents were crazy for letting us do as much of that as they did!

I have such a passion for sweets that it is hard to keep from drooling when there is anything remotely sugar-like in my house, and the same is true for my kids – I handed down that love genetically I imagine but either way the effect of the sugar products on my children is similar to Jekyll and Hyde.  Because of that I censor the amount of sugar enhance products they eat aggressively.

That being said, sure it would be nice for my kids to have healthy and fun snacks and treats on the holidays but I also wouldn’t want to take away the joy of candies and sweets from other kids who don’t share that same personality change when sugared up.  It is definitely not for me as a parent to judge what is best for an entire class of kids, I think that it would only be fair to say that they can exchange candy cards and not be allowed to eat them until they get home from school, thus allowing each parent to decide what is best for their kids.

*Referenced article – http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2014/02/07/kids-broken-hearted-over-school-valentine-day-candy-ban/

2 thoughts on “Candy – Yay or Nay

    colorfulcharactersclub said:
    February 10, 2014 at 8:29 AM

    I agree–they should bring them home. I remember in my daughter’s class years ago, most kids would give candy with the valentines-even if it was just a snack sized one (though some showier people did more) and even though there were kids with peanut allergies in the class and even though everything was SUPPOSED to be according to the safe-snack list, some people were giving REESE’S PEANUT BUTTER CUPS with the valentines. I was thinking they were insane and insensitive–plus dangerous if the kids got into the candy before they got home. Yikes!

    Like

      aimster813 responded:
      February 10, 2014 at 8:34 AM

      That is very true, though my kids don’t have big allergy issues I cannot imagine the terror I would have if someone did cause them to have a reaction because they were careless enough to not pay attention to such an important list!

      Like

Leave a Reply

