Military Downsizing – Yay or Nay

Posted on Updated on

I just read an article talking about the desire by many in leadership of this country to downsize the military forces that we have by a significant amount since the war has apparently been resolved and now these soldiers have no purpose.  I am a military brat – my Dad served his entire career in the Air Force and now actually works as a civilian on base, so my view on this situation is extremely biast.

I feel that to terminate the jobs of people who were just out fighting a war that they may or may not have actually wanted to fight is reprehensible.  It makes me sick to think that we are going to celebrate the hard work of our veterans by telling them “sorry we have to let you go now” and hope that they can find something else to do with their lives.

I just don’t think that there is anything that can justify a lay-off like that. I would rather, recommend that you put a freeze on hiring until they are at the desired number of soldiers. With all of the funding that goes into the military as it is, it seems to me like something could be worked out to keep these soldiers on without sacrificing that much.

Ah well, I don’t know anything about budgeting and $$$, but we are supposed to be for the people and this doesn’t seem like a very good way of saluting our people. It doesn’t help my negative opinion on these potential firings that San Antonio is a major military city so my family constantly sees and admires these heroes of ours.

Referenced article –  Local officials say military cuts could hurt San Antonio jobs

