So the Topic of the Day Continues – Humbleness

Posted on Updated on

Bundled with humbleness is humility – and guess what the Associate Pastor’s topic of sermon was today? Yep – humility.  Sometimes when you get up in the morning with that one random word ticking at the back of your head, well, that’s God’s way of whispering that he has something important he is trying to convey to you and that whisper will sit on repeat until you get the message.

Of course as soon as I saw the Pastor was covering Philipians 2:5-11 I laughed a little, mostly because I know when there is a message reaching right at me – I don’t always notice unless it is completely obvious. So this was the part of the passage that really stuck with me –

Philippians 2:2-4

2 then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. 3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, 4 not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.

The interests of others. And what is the very first step to finding out what the interests of others are that you can look to?  A smile. Yep. It is as easy as simply walking around with a smile on your face and directing it towards other people. When I go out in public I find that there are two very different demeanors I take on.  The haughty, tight-lipped, nose up posture when I am around people that I feel I am superior to and then the energetic smiling, laid back approach I take around people who look friendly and approachable.

Over the past few years the haughty me tends to come out way less often then when I was in my prime 20’s, age itself can humble a person, but even now I catch myself occasionally sucking in those cheeks instead of just smiling at the people around.

When you smile at someone you are inviting them to participate in your joy! JOY! Who wouldn’t want to share their joy with everyone? And when you invite someone to share in your joy, guess what? A lot of people smile back – that’s right- they share THEIR joy with you.  And that can lead to a true connection of God’s love. It can open up doors for you to be a part of something big. A picture that isn’t about you, but one that you can make a big difference in.

Anyhow that is what I have gathered from today’s word – HUMBLENESS.  Now I have to go out and find someone to smile at!

2 thoughts on “So the Topic of the Day Continues – Humbleness

    Brett Rossi said:
    March 6, 2014 at 7:08 PM

    Is it cool if I tweet about this post?

    Like

      aimster813 responded:
      March 6, 2014 at 7:54 PM

      You are very welcome to tweet it! I appreciate you asking first! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.