Pitbulls and The Bad Rap

Posted on Updated on

This weekend there was a dog festival in San Antonio to help with the no-kill idea that the city is trying to promote which is fantastic, I am all about raising money and awareness in the importance of spaying/neutering animals. But the news article that covered the story had a link to a free service being offered to neuter/spay Pitbulls.  Not any other breed, just Pitbulls.

This is what I don’t understand, Pitbulls are nowhere near the only dog type over-bred in this city. So why is it that they are the only breed that this free service is being offered to? Is it because of the stigma that follows the breed? Is it an effort to cause a decline in pitbull fighting? Either way, in my opinion if you are going to offer a service to spay/neuter it is completely rude to single out one breed and say that no other breed deserves the same deal.

That being said, for those in the San Antonio area who have Pitbulls that need to be neutered or spayed the San Antonio Surgery and Wellness Clinic is taking appointments for free service.  This service does NOT include the required rabies vaccination that you need to get if your dog is not current however, so be prepared to spend $10.00 if your dog is not utd.

I suppose these type of deals just rub me the wrong way because I have an American Staff – which is a type of pitbull and I would trust her alone with my kids before I would trust my Boston – (although both are quite good dogs – the Boston just likes nipping when he gets riled up) The point is, the free spay should be to the dog breed that is the biggest over-population issue in the city – I figured that would be MUTT.  🙂

*Referenced articles –

A tail-waggin’ good time at the 3rd annual Bark in the Park in San Antonio

SNAP

4 thoughts on “Pitbulls and The Bad Rap

    floridaborne said:
    March 3, 2014 at 2:42 PM

    I have a pit mutt and he is the sweetest people-dog you’d ever want.

    Like

      aimster813 responded:
      March 3, 2014 at 2:54 PM

      Isn’t it incredible? With the right families they are just fantastic pets!

      Like

        floridaborne said:
        March 3, 2014 at 3:13 PM

        Absolutely. I’d be more frightened of German Shepherds, but still I love all dogs.

        Like

        aimster813 responded:
        March 3, 2014 at 3:28 PM

        Ironically enough ones that terrify me are the chihuahuas! They have a ferocious little nip! But I definitely agree, dogs are so wonderful!

        Like

Leave a Reply

