Feeling Crushed? It Will Show!

Posted on Updated on

Sometimes life seems to really bring a lot more than I feel I can carry.  I would never want to reach out and compare my situation to others because we each have different things that happen and different ways of handling them, so my burden may seem like nothing to you – or you may agree with me.

This week I have gotten the pleasure of taking care of my two sick children, and then their sick Dad. I managed to keep the sick away from me until yesterday – then WHAM.  I tell you, it is much harder to take care of a sick family when you just want to curl up in a ball and die! (I am 99% sure it is only a cold, but still – I can whine with the best of them!)

Anyhow I flipped open my random Bible passage for the week and this was it –

Proverbs 17:22

A cheerful heart is good medicine,
but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

How completely true this is! Just putting on a positive attitude and being grateful for what I have took a lot of the load off. I actually feel a bit better physically (of course that could be the alka-seltzer lol) But my joy really reflects in the kids and my husband as well – They try to smile more instead of grumble and that helps me to be less annoyed with the dramatic neediness.

Of course, we all get sick – and a lot of the time we need actual medicine to feel better, but a positive, loving, joyful, attitude about it can help keep you from letting it get the best of you.

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

