My Geckos Bring In Spring!

Posted on

One of my very favorite parts about living in Texas is the vast amount of lizards that roam about and the home that we bought and moved into last year is chalk full of them! Every night during the spring/summer/fall time I go out on my back porch at night to let out my ferocious, beastly dogs and visit with my a few of my little buddies,

GECKOS!!!

Gecko

Geckos are sweet little lizards that live in warm climates and they like to stay where it is nice and toasty so at the end of the days where I live that is the top of my porch walls.  Interestingly enough, they don’t have eyelids so every once in awhile I get to see them lick their eyeballs…lol.

I am a notorious bug hater – they terrify me with their quick movements and their tiny little bodies.  Pretty much any of them from flies, to wasps, to those little silver bugs that don’t do anything at all, they are just creepy so I think it makes sense that I enjoy an animal on the food chain that devours bugs for dinner!

Gecko Pal

So usually by the end of the summer I will have four-six of these little geckos hanging about in the evenings and I just love it.  Did you know, some geckos don’t need a mate to reproduce? It does keep their genetic line from any variation but it is not actually necessary to have a male around to keep their line intact!

So I know for sure that Spring is here when my gecko buddies start coming out at night and that is just great, because for me this winter has been too long and too cold! So WOOHOO bring on Spring!

2 thoughts on “My Geckos Bring In Spring!

    Denine Taylor said:
    March 22, 2014 at 3:26 PM

    cool – I live in Illinois we don’t see those here.

    Like

      aimster813 responded:
      March 22, 2014 at 3:45 PM

      Yeah, there are a lot of horribly large bugs here that I had never seen up north too, so it is really nice to have something fun to balance it out! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.