A Tough Way to Go – Hoarder Found In Home

Posted on Updated on

Recently, within the past couple of weeks my father-in-laws brother passed away.  He was old so this was not unexpected except that he was a person who did not keep in contact with anyone at all.  So he was dead for nine days before anyone found him.  My husband did not even hear of his passing until he had been gone almost two weeks.

This idea of actually being able to die and not have anyone notice bothers me.  I am terrified of being one of the people who matter so little that not a single person would be concerned about checking on me daily after a certain age, just to make sure everything is OK.

Maybe as I get older I will change my mind and dying alone without anyone knowing will be a more appealing idea but I just can’t wrap my head around the idea that I could just die and no one would know for days on end.  It is that whole “world revolving around me” thing.  I am sure many of you can relate to that!

Anyhow, I only bring up these morbid thoughts because a 67 year old man from Dallas, who had been missing since the 15th of March was found buried under his piles of stuff in his home. Yes, almost 15 days went by before he was found.  Neighbors were concerned when he hadn’t shown up to church and notified the police who went in search of him.

This poor man was such a complete hoarder that it took the searchers two days to find him inside his own home. They had to cut through the roof and actually start cleaning the stuff out of his house in order to find him.

So I gathered two things from this sad story, I will never be a hoarder – I would hate for my family to have to see my home being tossed in a dumpster in order to find my body, whether they are ‘estranged’ or not. And I don’t want to die alone! (As if we get a choice lol).

Referenced article – Authorities say Dallas homeowner found dead in hoarding conditions

 

5 thoughts on “A Tough Way to Go – Hoarder Found In Home

    marthapfeil said:
    March 28, 2014 at 9:01 AM

    I worry about this! not in that category yet, but thinking about it helps me throw stuff out!!!!

      aimster813 responded:
      March 28, 2014 at 10:20 AM

      I know right? I kind of feel like I should be spring cleaning right now instead of blog cruising….:)

        marthapfeil said:
        March 28, 2014 at 10:32 AM

        I know.!

    aimster813 responded:
    March 28, 2014 at 8:53 AM

    You are so right!

    Mary Ann Barton said:
    March 28, 2014 at 8:31 AM

    Oh, goodness, how very sad! As a blogger, one reason I write is to connect with others, which is a great way to enhance one’s mental health. So keep on blogging and reading and commenting!

Comments are closed.