Protests Making the Wrong Statement

Posted on Updated on

I am a fan of protests, although never actually having participated in one myself I really respect those who are willing to peacefully advertise our opinions in this nation.  I think that it is important to be able to go out and give your statement, whether or not anyone does anything about it.

But why is it that more often than not, peaceful protests turn into this violent and angry thing that gets both sides of the fence completely raged?  I grew up in a house with siblings who would argue a point to death, but we never got into a violent rage match about it.

To me, I think a protest should be something enjoyable – a way to state your thoughts in a loud and friendly way – not in anger and hate.  I like the ones where they tie themselves to the trees to keep them from being cut down, showing how much they love life without actually doing anything to hurt those that are there to destroy it.

In Albuquerque this weekend there was a peaceful protest staged in regard to the number of people who have been killed by the police in the past couple of years – which happens to be 23, but I think the protest only really got started because of the most recent case where a mentally ill man was shot to death.

This protest, as many do, got completely out of hand and protesters threw rocks at officers, one of whom ended up injured and led to the cops having to tear gas the group. And what was the foreseen resolution here?  A peaceful protest is one thing, but when the protesters actually start hate-mongering by throwing rocks and things like that they are only giving the cops a reason to shut it down.

I could never take a protester seriously who has to take his argument to the next level through violence.  That to me negates the whole purpose and makes me think that they aren’t there for any type of peaceful resolution but rather to cause mayhem and disruption. And those are the people whose opinion doesn’t matter to me, if you are willing to casts stones at the people in authority in this nation you should be behind bars.

 

Reference – Protest Over ‘Killer Cops’ Triggers Violence in Albuquerque

