Motivation to Not Throw Sweet 16 Parties! … Mom Got Shot

Posted on

Sweet 16

In Houston this weekend there was a crazy fight at a sweet 16 party that ended with the mom in the hospital.  Apparently there were a couple groups of guys who got into a fight and one group left, and came back shooting and mom got hit by stray fire.

Here is a situation that should definitely never happen.  It was a BIRTHDAY PARTY.  I mean seriously? Is no celebration safe from stupidity and rage these days? Now this poor girl is scarred for life, who knows if her mom will make it and all because of guys.

I have a little girl and I am always looking for an excuse to close her up in a tower until she turns 40 or so and this is definitely one thing that can be added to my list of things I don’t want to do for her.  Having a massive party for a 16 year old to celebrate a so-called coming of age may sound fun but I am not really a fan of the idea of my 16 year old having boys around at all. And clearly that party had a group of the not-so-smart ones.

In all seriousness though, it really concerns me that the first solution that youth seem to jump to these days is one that can end a person’s life. What happened to the good old days where you punched a guy in the face and it was over?  Too much, it is all too much.

 

Referenced article – Mother shot after fight breaks out at sweet 16 party

