A Letter to My Senator

Posted on Updated on

Recently I fell victim to this emotion called ’empathy’ I am sure some of you are familiar with it.  What a pain it is! (that is sarcasm, I really don’t mind having empathy but it is hard to relay sarcasm online) Anyway, I was scrolling down my Facebook feed and lo and behold I ran across this heartfelt plea for help.

Please help resolve the pending adoptions from Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

I think that it literally jumped off of the computer screen and launched itself into my brain.  Yes, that is how effective this was on me.  God has this way of really tugging my heart strings when it comes to kids so this is right up my alley of topics to touch on.

There are children in the Democratic Republic of Congo who have been adopted well over a year and have not been issued exit permits to join their families in the United States.  They are separated from the people who would walk through fire to give them an opportunity at a healthy, and happy childhood.  I am positive that worldwide this is an issued, but the whole world doesn’t scroll down my facebook feed THANK GOODNESS!

So, if you clicked that link – you saw a letter that would auto-email to all pertinent forms of government outlets which I had no problem doing. I changed the wording a teensie bit but same message.  And I actually got a response today.  From my Texas Senator John Cornyn himself.  Well actually his writing team because I am sure I am not even a blip on his world radar.

Here is what he had to say:

Dear Mrs. Wahl:
Thank you for contacting me regarding international adoptions from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).  I appreciate having the benefit of your views on this matter and I share your concerns about the current situation.
As you know, on April 29, 2013, the DRC announced a temporary suspension of the issuance of exit permits to adopted Congolese children seeking to depart the country with their adoptive parents, citing concerns about potential fraud.  Unfortunately, the suspension has continued without any clear indication of whether the DRC intends to establish a timeline for processing the pending adoption cases.  I have asked the U.S. Department of State and U.S. Customs and Immigration Service to provide a universal list of all of the pending cases.  A preliminary list indicates over 400 cases are currently pending, including many in Texas.
I have joined my colleagues in sending a letter to DRC President Kabange and DRC Prime Minister Ponyo, requesting immediate action to assist families who are adopting children with special needs; those whose adoptions were completed prior to September 25, 2013; and those who have received U.S. visas for their children and are awaiting the exit permit.  In addition, my staff and I are available to assist any Texas families whose adoptions are being delayed by the DRC’s actions.  If you currently have a pending adoption in the DRC, I would be pleased to make an inquiry on your behalf, but must receive a signed general privacy release form prior to initiating an inquiry regarding a specific case.  The form and instructions about the casework process can be found on my website at: http://www.cornyn.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=HelpWithFederalAgencies.
I appreciate having the opportunity to represent the interests of Texans in the United States Senate, and you may be certain that I will continue to closely monitor this situation with the DRC.  Thank you for taking the time to contact me.
Sincerely,
JOHN CORNYN
United States Senator

Let me summarize in case you got bored and started snoozing halfway through – I almost did…..even the second time that I read it….here it is – THEY ARE GONNA MAIL THE DRC A STINKIN’ LETTER. Gee Senator, thank you so much for taking the time out to write a letter to the DRC. I could have done that myself.  But I was really hoping that maybe someone would get up from their desk….and go the extra mile to DO SOMETHING to help these kids out.

Am I going about this all wrong? Is it too much to think that we could actually send a person over to work out a way to get these kids home? I honestly don’t know anything about the workings of deals with other countries but it seems to me in my life that if  I want something done, I have to get up physically and handle it myself, so I guess I just relay that onto the other areas in the world.

Well, if a letter gets it done I suppose in the end that is good…wonder how long mail takes to get to the DRC…..I wrote John Cornyn again asking for more specific details and to find out if a letter is really the best method….maybe his employees will mail me back today – that or tag me as spam….Ah well…

*Sidenote – this is NOT a platform for my saving the children of the world agenda but if you happened to drum up this *cough* empathy *cough* for these children’s plight you are welcome to fill out that form on the link to see if your local Senator will send the DRC a lovely letter as well! 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Letter to My Senator

    STacee said:
    April 11, 2014 at 2:55 PM

    There are a whole lot of thing you clearly don’t understand about the DRC’s suspension of DGM exit permits:

    – DRC is a sovereign state and cannot be compelled to issue DGM exit permits to its own citizens
    – the adopted-on-paper-by-Americans DRC kids are citizens of DRC only. ONLY DRC citizens. They will not become US citizens until they step on US soil.
    – our government CANNOT compel a sovereign state into issuing exit permits to non-US citizens. Or anybody else, for that matter
    – the rationale for demanding DRC adoptions be expedited is SERIOUSLY flawed — the argument is that DRC is so poor it can’t provide clean water to its citizens, has a high infant/child mortality rate and so few social services for kids that they’re pretty much non-existent. The practically non-existent DRC social services are responsible for determining whether each and every kid is truly an orphan in need of a new foreign family… and doesn’t have the capacity to do so.
    – there’s rampant fraud/corruption and traffickign of DRC kids for the purpose of internatonal adoption. State Dept’s been issuing alerts/warinings about it since, like, 2011. State Dept issued ELEVEN alerts alone in 2013, all of which idiots with hearts set on buying DRC kids ignored. They’re now mad that EVERY SINGLE thing they were warned about came to pass.
    – DRC’s got legitimate concerns regarding the welfare of their kids in this country. “Rehoming” is a vile and common practice — look it up for yourself by googling Reuters Child Exchange
    – each adopting family is spending upwards of $35k to buy a DRC kid, plus $500/month for foster care fees during the suspension… in a country where the average per capita income is maybe $400. They are pAYING for the CORRUPTION. Their BIG BUCKS are actually CAUSING folks to steal and traffic DRC kids for PROFIT. They’re awful.

    Like

      aimster813 responded:
      April 11, 2014 at 3:20 PM

      All of your comments are appreciated, although on the last part, I do understand that human trafficking does happen – the people I am trying to promote this cause for are the ones who are genuine in their attempts to adopt a child. I myself, had I not had my two miracles, would have gone to the ends of the world to find a child to raise up so I feel for the ones who are not corrupt. It is too bad that the system is flawed but I still think that we have the ability fix it if we really wanted to.

      Like

Comments are closed.