Penalty for Standing by Faith – Sudanese Christian Sentenced to Death

Posted on Updated on

If you are like me, you probably don’t spend a lot of time worrying about the dangerous aspects of your faith.  I am a Christian, but I think that this can be held true of any faith, because where there is a difference of opinion, there grows a fear and with fear generally comes violence. Living in the 20th century though, especially the United States I have been given a LOT of freedom to express my faith however I want, and for the most part others get to express their’s as well.

In Khartoum, Sudan there is a different way though.  A recent example is Meriam Ibrahim, a Sudanese woman – who is actually eight months pregnant- was sentenced to death for refusing to recant her Christian faith. Because of this “apostasy” from the Islamic faith she is going to be martyred. How many of you can say that in the face of execution you would be able to loudly proclaim your faith in your God?

I like to think that given such a situation that I would absolutely be able to stand on the rock of God and shot to the hills how strong my faith is, but I have never been presented with the ultimatum so who really knows? What I do know is that this woman is an example of EXACTLY how I want to be in my faith.

In addition to the impending execution, she faces being flogged for her marriage to a Christian man.  My opinion in this circumstance is that if you as an Islamic leader, want to PROMOTE your faith in a positive way, that maybe having them exiled (relocated) to another country would be a wiser choice. Then you are stating that your country follows a specific PEACEFUL belief, and more people would be willing to open their minds to that faith.

Executing a Christian because of their beliefs, creating a martyr, tends to lead to more people wanting to find out what is so wonderful that it could be worth DYING for.  Through her love of Christ, Meriam is opening up an opportunity for others to know the love of Jesus, who died to save us. It is heartbreaking, and beautiful.

 

 

Pregnant Sudanese woman sentenced to death for apostasy

3 thoughts on “Penalty for Standing by Faith – Sudanese Christian Sentenced to Death

    […] By aimster813 […]

    Like

    Terese said:
    May 16, 2014 at 1:15 PM

    Thank you for pointing out that this story is both heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time. I didn’t stop to realize that as she becomes a martyr she is shouting to the world that her Jesus is worth dying for!

    Like

      aimster813 responded:
      May 16, 2014 at 3:31 PM

      Yeah, this woman’s story is just screaming to be told. There are so many “comfortable” Christians out there, I think that this is someone who could jump-start a heart easily, and those are the one’s we NEED helping us the most.

      Like

Comments are closed.