Why Did You Get Married?

Posted on

So the last couple Sundays we have been talking about the Song of Solomon in the Bible and it has been entertaining and interesting to hear the perspectives from our study group. It cracks me up a little how difficult it is for guys to express their feelings about their significant others in a room full of people.

I, myself, have no issues sharing pretty much anything to anyone, I don’t have any discomfort because I don’t really feel that there is anything to be embarrassed about. I love love! The question posed to us this week though, Why did you get married?

For me it was simple, from the moment I saw my now husband I knew we were going to be together. But my moral code – thank you Mom and Dad- enforced the belief that until I was married there should be no hanky panky. And let’s face it, that is one of the very BEST things about marriage! I also remember in the New Testament how Paul said not to get married at all if you could help it since it can detract from your relationship to God but if you lust then you absolutely need to get hitched.

So I got married to be able to do the deed.  Now, hindsight being 20/20, I would absolutely do it for that reason again. Because what I got out of it has been just phenomenal (not just the sex of course lol) Every aspect of my marriage, from the moment we signed the license to me sitting here and writing this has been one wonderful and crazy experience after another.

I got married for sex. God allowed me to marry Scott for MUCH more. He is a soul mate, he is a friend, he is a fantastic father, he is my teammate and my world. Because of my relationship to him, I am closer to God.  We make an interesting couple – we are both utterly snarky and sarcastic (which by default makes my children the same way) so our house is ALWAYS full of humor.   I like to think that in God’s ultimate plan for my life that Scott was a puzzle piece that helped finish this landscape because he really does complete me. Without a partner, without my Specific partner, I wouldn’t have my two wonderful, crazy children to walk down this path with.

So even though I got married for one wonderful reason, there are really a million reasons that I got married, I just didn’t know it at the time.  Being married is a blast (even in the rough spots)- I highly recommend it to everyone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

